Day 40: Lower Narrows on Long Pond to Brassua Island NFCT campsite (16.4 miles)

Wow, I am blogging from my tent as dusk falls, determined to post this before it gets dark.  This week I’ve had many long, tough days and my body is begging for a rest.  Again this afternoon, I was digging deep to keep paddling until I reached camp.

The day began with bright sunshine as I finished Long Pond, paddled a short section of the Moose River and then tackled the almost four-mile Demo Rd. portage to reach Little Brassua and Brassua Lakes and my island camp.

It was hot enough mid-morning to go for a swim from this island near the end of Long Pond.
This two miles of the Moose River had four fun rapids, the most challenging I’ve run with my new canoe, and a moose in a cove at the third one, where there was no hope of stopping.

 
 

A highlight was discovering the same composition book journal here on the island. It has survived seven long Maine winters and still has some of my Paddle for Hope business cards tucked in it!
   

TOTAL MILES: 567.2

2 thoughts on “Day 40: Lower Narrows on Long Pond to Brassua Island NFCT campsite (16.4 miles)

  1. Jan July 30, 2015 / 12:44 pm

    So fabulous! I look forward to your blog every day. But the real question is, is the ex officio all you’d hoped for and more?!

    Like

  2. lachandler22 July 31, 2015 / 12:17 am

    I may never wear anything else. Just got Mom to buy two more pairs, one mysteriously disappeared and one is at a campsite in NH! Glad you’re still reading along.

    Like

Leave a comment